The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past. Do you agree or dis agree with the statement? use specific example and details to explain your reasons.

Family can be divided into close and extended family. Close family includes spouse, parents and siblings; whereas an extended family includes in-laws, uncles, aunts, cousins and so on. However, there are many forms that a family can take. Some people think their friends as family, others consider their neighbors as family. All these forms are true. However, the matter of truth is that people who consider each other a family must love and take care of each other. I agree with the statement that nowadays extended family has become less important than it was before. I will elaborate my reasons in the ensuing paragraphs.

First, with new technology, the gap between old and new generation has been ever widen. For example, young generation like to stay in contact through social media. They communicate with their friends and other people through Facebook, Snap-chat, Whats App, and so forth. In addition, they consider social media more exciting and important than talking to their extended family. Further, people have become busier in their life. They do not have time to talk or meet extended family. Adults are busy in making money to fulfill their family needs. On other hand, students are busy in their education. Due to competition students take numerous classes to be successful in their academics. Because of busy schedules of adults, significance of the extended has been reduced.

Secondly, families are becoming farther apart. People started moving out of their hometown for the better opportunities of job, education, and many more. For example, I moved to the other state for earning a degree of physical therapy. And now, I moved to the USA for better life and job opportunity to work as a physical therapist. Due to super busy schedule, I have only little time to talk to my parents on the phone. In addition, some other family members even in the US live really far so that I rarely get chance to talk or meet them.

Let’s put in a nutshell, I believe that extended family has become less significant because of the other values and factors come into place. People have less time to talk and to spend together with their extended family. Because of all these reasons, extended families have separated from the rest of the family compare to the past.