The extended family(grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.

Being surrounded by lovely persons like grandparents, cousins, aunts and uncles is the best the most precious treasure that people can have in their lives . However, during the last few decades, it has been unprecedent change of people perception about the family due to the contemporary modern life trend . Some people may agree that the extended family has become less significant with time, while others may have different point of view. Actually, I believe that extended family is less important now than it was in the past due to many reasons that I will elaborate on them in the following paragraphs.

First, the modern technology has affected the whole family relationships negatively. Even though, the great assistance of the Internet and social media, has facilized the communication among the extended family ( family members) as they can communicate with each other online, they are less likely to chat face-to-face, which does have an adverse effect on people's feelings and love. Consequently, family members do not pay visit to each other, and do not have those unforgettable moments of amusement that the extended family bring to all of the family members. Moreover, holidays used to be the time when the family get together and celebrate parties with close relatives. In contrast, special occasion parties nowadays are held individually by every different branch of the household. Sending text messages or postcards are the only gesture that remember people of their extended family.

Second, in today`s life family members are extremely occupied and have no time to keep in touch with their own parents or anyone else. They have to work five days for living, and sometimes more, and have only six or seven hours a day for rest, which makes it really difficult for them to maintain their relationships to the extended family. As a result the close relatives have no significance in the small family daily life. Even children, nowadays, cannot memorize the names of their aunts or cousins or uncles, because they don`t have close relationship with them.

To sum up, taking in consideration the points mentioned above, I definitely agree with the statement that The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.