Famous entertainers and athletes deserve to have more privacy than they have now.

In modern society, increasingly developed technologies like social media and cell phones that can take pictures are popular with numerous people. With easy access to quantities of information, both reliable and false, our initial desire of gossiping is evoked: we enjoys our chatting about emotional affairs about some celebrities. Consequently, some famous entertainers and hot athletes are gradually losing their personal privacy to some extent. Therefore, in my point of view, people like athletes and entertainers deserve to have more privacy than they have now.

In the first place, as citizens, entertainers and athletes are endowed with right of privacy, which has been dramatically violated by reporters and other ordinary people. Think about the excellent ping pang athlete Ma Long. Imagine that he is planning to enjoy his time in the theater with his wife, while some of his fans recognize him and beg him for his signature and a picture taken with him. How could he obtain his own privacy and accompany his family under such a circumstance? No. In addition, according to a reliable data offered by China Daily, 80% of the famous entertainers and athletes admit that their personal life have been seriously disturbed by their fans and reporters. Therefore, it is obvious that the privacy of many celebrities are threatened, and more privacy is surly deserved for them.

Someone may argue that it is inevitable to pay the price of shrinking privacy for the sake of his or her occupation. They contend that these jobs are more or less involved with the recreation business, the essence of which is entertaining people; that is, less privacy is a side effect of the careers and they should not blame it on anyone. Plausible as that view seems at first glance, after careful examination, we can discover the flaw of the theory with ease. Entertainer and athletes are not necessarily the victim of their fans and journalists. Admittedly, entertaining audience is the content of their work, but it doesn’t lead to the conclusion that they also have to sacrifice their leisure time to their fans and audiences. By no means should we confuse life with work.

To sum it up, the privacy of athletes and entertainers has narrowed down over the past few decades, owing to the accelerating development of modern technology. But we cannot take it for granted because more privacy is a deserved right for every citizen. Therefore, famous entertainers and athletes deserve to have more privacy than the poor private life they have now.