Films can tell us a lot about the country where they were made. What have you learned about a country from watching its movies? Use specific examples and details to support your response.

During the last century, films have become a primary source of information, presenting accurate ideas about various regions. Personally, I have really accumulated a wide variety of knowledge about the main characteristics of foreign places, by watching movies regularly. I will present the some of these, in the following essay.

To begin with, films can be considered real encyclopedias. These offers both a general view and a specific image about other countries' features, therefore the viewer can observe the architecture, the climate, the geography and the stage of development. People can make comparisons between their own native places and those ones. As far as I am concerned, I have mostly watched American movies and I am extremely impressed by the fast evolution of Americans. It is well-known that this continent was discovered just 500 years ago, and yet, at the global level, these peoples' achievements are superior. They have build a grandiose infrastructure, with skyscrapers and well-organized streets and districts. Moreover, their technological advancement made possible the landing on the moon and the exploration of other planets. Furthermore, these movies offer a clear image about the diversity of the relief. Touristic attractions such as The Grand Canon, The Rain Forests, The Yellowstone National Park, The Lake Tahoe, Alaska and Hawaii are areas that are worthy to be visited.

Secondly, films also present the habits and the behaviors. It can be observed that Americans, even though most of them have European ancestors, have developed a totally different culture. In other words, the way of speaking, the fashion style, the social behavior and so forth, are not similar to the rest of the world. From my point of view, they are quite enthusiastic and express their feelings without being reluctant, having the tendency to overemphasize joyousness, happiness or dramatic situations. They also do not give much importance to fashion, preferring comfortable and practical clothes to stylish ones. Consequently, watching movies opened my horizons and gave me plenty of precious information about foreign peoples' comportment.

To summarize, films definitely outline the attributes of the regions in which these were shoot-ed. On the one hand we are introduced to elements regarding their development and climate, and on the other hand we are presented to various cultural beliefs.