getting advice from friends who are older than you is more valuable than getting that from your peers.

Friends have a prominent role in our lives. They often help us effectively in various conditions. Due to the paramount importance role of friends in our decisions, a heated debate exists over whether which category of them can be more useful. Some people believe that those friends who have the same age present more valuable advice than the others who are older. some others, including me, have an opposite viewpoint. I firmly believe that we can get more useful guidance from older friends. In what follows, I will elaborate the most outstanding reasons.

First and foremost, older people have remarkable experiences. Using their advice effectively paves the way for us to be aware of different unfamiliar aspects of the circumstances. There is no doubt that, this standpoint helps us to have a comprehensive understanding of probable consequences of any decision. For instance, when I was a mechanical engineering student I had a friend who had graduated two years earlier. Once the department asked the students to choose the subject of the final projects, I immediately referred to him. He had been working on composite materials for three years before the graduation. Although he deals with business activities now, he gave me invaluable information about the challenges of working with such special kind of material. I was useful for me since I repudiated to select this field for final thesis. Had I chosen the composite materials at that time, I would have confronted with serious problems especially on producing valid results with respect to limited experimental facilities.

A furthermore significant point is that peers often are considered as the main rivals for students. They may have common goals. therefore, it is indispensable that a hidden competition exists among the students in the same age. Nobody can ignore the sense of competition among the peers. Consequently, it is likely that their advice has a misleading role instead of being helpful. Let's consider my friend's experience as an example to clarify this point. My friend was a member of a soccer team when he was a high school student. He has always been eager to detect the shortcut ways to ace the game efficiently. This goal was very important for him since the mentor had just one selection for the forward player in the final team. One of the other students who had the same goal tried to give incorrect information about the effective methods for having the perfect performance during the match. As a result, my poor friend lost the golden opportunity with his misleading advice. That is why getting advice from the older people is a better choice to guarantee the success.

In brief, by taking into account all the aforementioned reasons, it seems that people who are older give use more valuable advice. Not only do they have a lot of invaluable experiences, but also older people often have not strong competition with us. Hence, it is highly recommended to notice the guidance presented by older people rather than peers.