Should high school students be required to study many different subjects at the same time or they should study only three or four subjects at the time?

One of the most significant issues related to proper educational systems is the amount of the courses for students. Due to its paramount importance, a heated debate exists among educational experts. While some people believe that students should have a variety of subjects for learning at the same time, others, including me, have an opposite viewpoint. I firmly believe that limited numbers of subjects should be presented to students in a period. A couple of reasons come into my mind regarding this point of view. First, students will have enough time to better understanding of the main concepts. Moreover, this strategy prevents the overloading of the students. The most outstanding reasons will be scrutinized in the following statements.

First and foremost, with the fewer subjects, the more deep understanding will be obtainable for students. There is no doubt that students should focus on the presented subjects carefully to have an acceptable performance at the final exams. This can be more critical when they should engage with professional matters. Therefore, by a limited number of issues, students can allocate enough time to have a deeper understanding of the main concepts of the lessons. Needless to say, well understanding will have a profound effect on the further stages of the learning process. For instance, consider a high school student that many subjects on empirical science, mathematics, and earth science are presented to him. It is necessary for the student to recognize the basic concepts of the different aspects of the algebra. Having enough knowledge in such area plays a prominent role in his next performance. In fact, he will not be able to handle all of them simultaneously. This assertion is based on this reasonable fact that the limitation of time prevents the allocation of enough time. The student has to just have a glance at the study materials are given to him.

A further more significant point is that students will not have strong motivation if they are overloaded by many tasks for investigation. Having three or four subjects to study, they have extra time to relax as well to have fun with their classmates. This process leads them to consider both educational activities and recreational ones. For instance, based on my own personal experience, I gave up the high school for a year when I had been confronted with many subjects to study. I felt tired most of the time. Consequently, it made me undesirable feelings about study materials. Had I had fewer subjects to study, I would not have abandoned the high school.

In brief, by taking into account all the aforementioned reasons, it seems that allocation a few study materials to students can be considered as a rational method for educational systems. Not only will adequate understanding be provided for students, but also this approach gives the students this chance not to be overloaded by a variety of subjects.