A good parent should be friendly but not a friend. Do you agree or disagree to this statement?

Today, parent sometimes treat their children as if they are also friends that they can share their problems with. Although many parents believe this is a good way to communicate with their kids, I certainly oppose the idea that parents must be friends with their children. I will explain why I feel this way in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, there is no doubt that a good parent should be friendly in order to have a healthier relationship. However, "friendship" may cause problems if it means "treating a child as an adult therapist". Being friends requires two sides to talk about their problems clearly. If the parents mention every problems that they encounter in their lives, it is scientifically proven that this can harm the development of children and influence them negatively. For instance, one of the things that you can share with a child, is that you cannot afford a bicycle she wants for this month. But, what you must not share with the child is, "I don't know if I will be able to pay the rent this month." This is something that your child is not prepare for emotionally. Therefore this may cause her to get anxious about something that she has no control. Consequently, it is a duty for a parents to listen to their children about their problems, while concealing about their individual problems to not to distress their children.

Additionally, it is crucial to enforce age-appropriate limits on their children's behavior. Children can talk to their friends in more sincere way but they must be conscious of the age gap while they talk to their parents. Otherwise, this can damage the respect in a parent-child relationship. Once this precious respect between them is lost, they may never be able to establish that again. So, children should not be allowed to communicate to their parents as they do to their friends.

To sum up, one can logicially conclude that being "buddies" with your children can be harmful for their mental health and parents must be aware of the limits in a parent-child relationship.