What is your favorite recreational activity? Describe it and say why you enjoy doing it.

Today, there are a lot of opportunities to develop you creativeness while spending your time in an efficient way. Having a creative hobby, like painting, keeps your mind active and may improve your overall quality of life. So, according to me, painting is the greatest recreational activity because of several reasons.

To begin with, painting can decrease you anxiety level dramatically and helps you to heal your mental-health issues. Finding an emotional release like painting allows a person’s mind to relax and let go of all the problems that contribute to a high stress level. This aspect is crucial for my personal experience as I am in a really competitive environment and under the pressure of academic success. After taking all the final exams, painting is a savior to comfort myself and find peace at the touch of brush to the canvas. A low stress level leads to a happier, healthier lifestyle. Therefore painting is an indispensable part of my life.

Moreover, it has proven scientifically that painting supports your brain growth by stimulating creative skills. Even left-brainers people who are more analytical then right-brainers can enhance their critical thinking by practicing and foster them to solve problems much quicker. Motor skills like handling a paintbrush increases the mobility in the hands and the fingers. The utility of painting is not limited only by this, it also sharpens your mind through conceptual visualization and boosts memory skills. People who are doing recreational activities such as writing, painting and drawing have less chance of developing memory loss illnesses when they get older.

In addition to the benefits to your health and brain, painting also promotes your emotional growth. Painting enables you to convey your emotions through artwork which is a helpful experience for us. Experimenting with different painting techniques allows you to understand what triggers feelings such as happiness, sadness, love or anger. Painting is a type of healing through abstract emotional expression.

In conclusion, painting plays a major life in my life and I hold the belief that it made me a better person in every aspect. It has increased my problem solving skills, reduced my stress level and became a part of my life.