Many people think that students study course materials more effectively by taking exams, while others think that students learn more effectively through doing other activities such as writing paper or completing projects. Which do you think is more effective for students to learn?

Nowadays, the schools that foster the students to do projects instead of taking exams are becoming more and more common. This situation results a lot of parents who question the quality of their children’s education. One of inevitable questions regarding quality of education is whether students learn effectively by taking exams or through other activities such as writing papers or completing projects. I personally believe that these activities are much more efficient than the traditional exam strategy and I feel this way for three main reasons.

To begin with, projects allow students to experience real-life problems since most of these projects require a further knowledge than the regular high school exams do. While completing a project, students must encounter a variety of difficulties and this will enhance their problem solving skills. Therefore, these project and works can be used in the future when students are applying for a job or creating a strong resume.

Furthermore, being scored by projects instead of a classic four choices test, lowers the stress level as the majority of the students suffer from high anxiety problems. It encourages them to discuss with their friends and find solutions to a certain problem, which results a better environment to study without so much pressure. Completing a project requires students to work slowly and methodically, so they can demonstrate their commitment their knowledge in a more efficient way. Consequently, this flexible routine and larger time accompanies with a decreased stress.

Finally, students are able to recall the information much easier that they have experienced on their own and get involved. However, this is certainly not the case when taking exams. It is widely known that students forget the essential information just after passing the exams since most of them only study one week before the exam week. As a result taking exams is not as beneficial as people think it is.

To sum up, one can logically draw the conclusion that students learn more effectively by doing projects and writing papers rather than taking exams if they really want to succeed in their academic life.