Students at a university often have a choice of places to live. They may choose to live in university dormitories, or they may choose to live in an apartments in community. Compare the advantages of living in university housing with the advantages of living in an apartment in community. Where would you prefer to live?

When I was leaving the home for going to university, I was a little nervous with the idea of living in a dormitory. Then, several months later I concluded that the environment of the dormitory kept me actively studying and I had so many friends who were always there for me whenever I needed. However I personally think that both options have got their own positive and negative sides.

Besides the many advantages of staying at a dormitory, two of the most essential are social relationship and security. Staying at the dormitory teaches you the manners that you should have for staying with a lot people in the same building. You will meet a lot of people with a variety of personalities in the dormitory: some of them are pleasant, some of them are not, but you can build up your network of acquaintances and enrich your life with many new friends simply by living among other college students. Furthermore, having many friends makes you feel emotionally strong when you are far away from your family. Another advantage is of the dorm is certainly the security. There is usually a security desk and the main doors are locked in addition to the lock on your room.

On the other hand, staying in an apartment flat would provide more privacy and freedom, since there are dormitory rules that you must obey like not playing the music after some certain time of night or to be in your room at the check hours. You can have your own room and your own bathroom. Moreover, you can experience how to be “on your own”, doing the dishes, cooking for yourself and other chores which might be beneficial for your further life.

Because security and social relationships are two of my most important values, I prefer dormitory life. I had the best memories with my friends in my dormitory and I can’t imagine living in an apartment flat all alone.