The government now plans to establish some car-free zones in the center of the city. Some like this plan for they believe it can help eliminate traffic congestion, while others dislike it because not being able to reach places like stores and restaurants by car is very inconvenient to them. What do you think of this plan and why?

Big cities are drowning in traffic issues and are becoming more uncomfortable for pedestrians. From my point of view, it's a brilliant idea to create some space that will be forbidden for cars. There are some advantages, which will be described further. Anyway, to me they are covering all diadvantages of the idea completely.

First and foremost, pedestrians will be provided with more space for walking. Being able to sit in front of a cafe without breathing emmissions from cars is what a majority of cities need. Moreover, instead of the road, some trees and flowers can be planted to make buildings in the city center more likable. I have read about a similar project, which was implemented in Vienna recently. It was extremely successful, causing no objections and severe problems for residents and tourists.

Secondly, this decision will be a stymulus for people to walk more and to become more sporty. Nowadays, a vast amount of world population is suffering from unsufficient moving and instant sitting in front of the computer or TV. It is definitely a good idea to take a walk to the supermarket after your job. It's well-known that physical activities increase happines and provide human with energy.

Last but not least, the government will surely propose some alternatives for people. Although it's a pleasant project, it can still be uncomfortable for someone. In my opinion, bikes or some vehicles for people with children could be proposed for free or for rent. This solution has already been implemented in a lot of cities around the world. In Moscow, for instance, you can rent a bike and ride it almost everywhere, using particular space on the roads or pavements. Moreover, you can leave it where it's comfortable for you, without a need to go back to the place where you borrowed it.

To sum up, I consider this project as a good start to make cities more pedestrians-friendly. Of course not everyone will be pleased with that decision. Nevertheless, these days it's crucial to care about your health and about environment. With reducing the amount of traffic, more trees will be plented and more cleaner air we are breathing in will become. Also, with implementing more available and secure space, city center will become more comfortable for children and animals.