grades encourage students to learn more

Learning and knowledge are the most important pillars of each society in today's world. Due to the fact we live in a chaotic and fast-paced world, it is necessary for us to have specific and master in certain fields. This duty is a burden on schools and universities. A controversial question that is often raised regarding this issue is whether grades encourage students to learn. Some people possess the conviction that this issue is agreeable whereas others hold exactly the opposite and allege that this issue is not fruitful and there are many features that we can use to encourage students learning. I am personally content that this issue is multifaceted. I think the second approach is more important in modern society. To substantiate my point of view, the following paragraphs represent a cursory glance at the most outstanding reasons.

The first reason coming to mind elucidating my standpoint is that old methods are not an efficient solution for today's problem. Children are more clever and smarter rather than past and some of them are hyperactive, so sitting behind a desk and taking weekly, monthly, and semester exams are boring way. Although these methods were efficient in the past and teachers could give feedback to students, however, today there are many features that we can use as a competitive edge in classes. Teachers can assign a project, lecture presentation, or even research to students and evaluate them regarding these measurements. Consider my personal experience to make this point more clear. When I was at university, we had a humble professor for our Statistics course. He was a nice guy and helped the class to follow up the path. He evaluated us regarding the scores we got in the presentation and research. During the presentation, he explained the concept in detail and answered students' questions. Consequently, now, I still use my knowledge from that class.

The second rationale behind this fact is rooted in the fact that after graduation, when students want to work in a big company, the employment look at their GPA and their grades. I definitely disagree, because these grades can not show the student's ability and talent. Some of the good candidates lose their job offers own to their bad scores. These grades never show their potential ability.

In brief, due to the aforementioned reasons, I disagree with the statement that grades encourage students to learn.