In high school classes, which of the following way is the most effective to stimulate students’ interest.

1. using technology in the classroom more often

2. more group work

3. introduce how knowledge is related to daily life

Nowadays, education has become the top concern of modern citizens. Recently there is a heated debate on how to stimulate students’ interest in study, some claim that they should use technology in class or introduce how knowledge is related to daily life. As for me, I believe that the best way is doing more group work.

Firstly, when students are in are group, they will become more active and focus better on the class. To be specific, people are group animals, so if they are in a group they are likely to keep the same pace as others. For another, group work involves a lot of talking and discussing, which is the best way to intrigue students’ interest in a subject. Take me for example, when I was in high school, there was a class called Art History. In the class we appreciated some famous artists, once, the teacher asked us to form a group to talk about Modernism artist Matisse, some of the group members said his work had unique colors, some thought that his painting was vivid. According to them, I found out that his work might be associated with music, because of the bright color and lines with motions. So I expressed my point of view, they all agreed with me, and we started to do some researching about this topic. Therefore, I am convinced that, in the group, there will come up a variety of new ideas, which give students confidence to do further study.

Furthermore, the other two ways are not efficient enough. To be exact, using technology in class may not be as good as we imagine, because, with those fancy devices, students will easily be distracted instead of focusing on the textbook. For instance, my sister Lucy’s school has equipped with state-of-the-art teaching devices. However, Lucy says that when they are in the class, their attention is on the beautifully decorated picture instead of the words on the screen. And also, using too many electric screens may make the students nearsighted. On the other hand, introducing how knowledge is related to daily life may sound good, but it is not very practical. Since some subjects are quite abstract, it is difficult to find a phenomenon in real life that matches the theory.

In conclusion, from what has been discussed above, I still maintain that more group work is the most effective to stimulate students’ interest.