A high school requires their students (aged 16-17) to choose an activity to attend in the summer vacation when they turn from 11th grade to 12th grade. Which of the following do you think is more beneficial

1. taking part in the university-level course(for example, the course related to the major field they want to study in)

2. visiting museums and historic places with teachers and other students and then write a paper about it.

Speaking to beneficial activities for students, the opinions vary from one to another. Some people may regard that it is better to visit museum and historic places. In my opinion, It is taking part in the university-level course during summer vacation that will be more beneficial for a 12th grade student.

To begin with, we have heard many cases that university students felt the school was not helpful with their career path, thus they lose motivation very quickly. However, It is possible they weren't interested in that field of study. Allowing students to take part in university-level course in advance will help them understand what they wish to major. After the course, students can use the rest one year in high school to reach out to different sources to know more about the field and prepare themselves for the challenges. Or, in other case, during the summer vacation course, students may find the field doesn’t meet their expectation, then they can use the one year in the high school to learn about other fields to make a better decision before entering school. With this course, students can reduce the possibility of wasting time on something they don't like.

So, what about visiting museums and historic places? Well, of course visiting these places can broaden our vision. Yet, it is not that influential and beneficial as taking part in the university-level course for students at their stage of turning to 12th grade. There is no big difference in terms of when to visit museums and historic places. We won't say visiting these places at age 16 is better than age 18, for example. Moreover, mostly students don’t really see visiting museums as a chance for leaning, instead, these activities are more like an entertainment during summer vacation. Therefore, its benefits are not as influential as taking college preparation course as to the educational level.

All in all, shedding light on what university courses is like beforehand helps high school students to find their direction. Its importance is way beyond other activities.