Do you agree or disagree with the following statement

To be successful we must be creative

Every person has its preferred way to handle tasks at work or at school. But is being creative better than the traditional way? Some people may find that being creative is a little too risky since things may not work out as imagined. However, I agree that to be successful, we must be creative.

To begin with, most great inventions, which impact human beings’ lifestyle the most, come from creativity. It is these products of creativity let us live in a world that would be believed as another planet in hundreds of years ago. The most famous invention in recent years, for example, must be the iPhone. Before the iPhone, there were many generations of mobile phone. However, it is when iPhone’s created, our life started being changed so rapidly in a few years. With this totally new type of mobile phone, people can do anything anywhere. No one would say the iPhone is not a success. Without the creative people, the iPhone wouldn’t exist.

Secondly, to be creative let our brain see from a different perspective, let our heart be more open-minded to new ideas and let ourselves be more flexible to adapt to changes, resulting in lots of opportunities and solutions. I remember when I worked in a textile company, there’s one time, a customer gave us a new sample and hoped us to reach the same color effect which was not able to be made only by dyeing process but using special yarn. However, due to the cost issue, it was not possible to change materials. We were stuck on that point for several weeks until one day, our technician gave us an idea by trying different knitting way using the same quality yarn. We had never tried it since it sounded not practical at all. It just never came into our minds. In the end, it worked. Not 100% as what customer wanted, but within that price range and still having novelty, it’s perfect enough. It’s really a big success. If we were too conservative to try a new idea, we would end up having to drop that program.

To sum up, although trying creative way doesn’t mean it will always lead us to success. However, even though we fail, the experience is still a lot more precious than being conservative. Therefore, I believe that everyone should always try to think and look in a creative way, especially when having a tough problem.