Do you agree or disagree with the following statement, It is better to have lots of different friends than a few friends.

Friends are one of all those things that one person cannot miss in life. Is it better to have a lot of friends from different places than just having few friends? Some people are comfortable with a few close friends having similar habits and interest. However, I agree that it’s better to have many different friends. I believe that the benefits of having different friends are huge.

To begin with, a person’s life has many different phases and steps. We involve in various groups even just throughout a day. In each area, such as in school and at work, it’s not possible to fight and achieve goal alone. In school, friends can help your study and homework out; at work, close friends can help you with your project and cover you when it’s necessary. For example, when I was in college, I joined a cheer team, a guitar club and a play show, plus assignments and courses, sometimes it’s difficult to remember all the schedule. Luckily, I had some close friends in each area, they helped remind me of the next meeting date, the assignments and cleared my questions in regards to the study materials. I wouldn’t be able to have such a colorful and fulfilled school life without them. There are no doubt many more examples, but this is one sample that clearly shows how important it is to have many friends.

In addition, different friends can provide valuable knowledge and life experience to one person. In real life, it’s rare to find a person having 100% same background and life experience as ours to give us useful advice. However, by meeting different friends, we can learn a little bit from each one of them Take me as an example, if I want some suggestions of buying a new laptop, I ask my friend from college for some advice. I have difficulty organizing my group at work, I talk with friends from my previous work or someone I know they are doing very well at work. If I need advice or help in regards to a relationship, I talk to someone I can trust or study a similar area. Of course, it’s because they are all my close friends, they are all willing to help. We don’t walk to a random person to ask for a suggestion. All in all, the role each friend can play in giving us different experience is enormous.

To sum up, although there are many people who believe having fewer close friends are better, I disagree. I think that the benefits of having lots of different friends are tremendous. I strongly believe that everyone should try to make and have some close friends in different area.