A high school is thinking about making one of the following classes a required class for high school students: personal finance management, cooking class, or auto repair. Which option will you recommend high school students to take at school and why?

With the advent of technology and the arrival of globalization, people nowadays are required to learn as much as possible in order to stay competitive. To reflect this trend, many educators and curriculum designers have begun to overhaul and redesign curricula in order to accommodate students’ needs. High school students are no exception. Although they are pretty preoccupied with their academic work, they should also invest their energy in their extracurriculars so that they can pinpoint their passion and figure out their future career direction. If a high school is about to make one of the classes listed in the prompt required, I would recommend high school students to take classes in personal finance management.

To begin with, learning how to manage one’s finances responsibly and carefully allows high-school students to gain the right concept of money. To be more specific, if high-school students begin to learn as early as possible how much they save or spend each month, they would realize that the money that parents earn is hard-earned and they should treat it more seriously, carefully, and responsibly. When I was in grade twelve, my parents would give me about one thousand dollars each month to help cover my daily expenses. At first, I just engaged in impulsive shopping from time to time, and I ended up spending it all in a week. My parents, after knowing this, were pretty upset and decided not to give me the pocket money for one month as a penalty so that I could realize how hard it was to making a living. Having lived for one month without any financial support, I finally came to the realization that I had been careless in my spending behavior and that indeed, it was not easy to be the breadwinner. After this incident, I carefully documented my monthly expenses and savings thereafter, and would always ask myself many times before making any purchase: Was this thing really necessary? “A penny saved is a penny earned,” said by Benjamin Franklin. Not only was I able to cut down my expenses with my financial management habit but also I could save about two hundred dollars now every month.

Furthermore, taking personal financial management class gives students an opportunity to think about and plan their future. Students could contemplate over what they hope to accomplish and how much finance they would need, which could motivate and guide them to achieve their goals in a more systematic way. For instance, my uncle had always wanted to be an entrepreneur, especially in the domain of online-shopping and he knew that he would need bags of cash and money in order to start up his company. Therefore, since he was in the tenth grade, he took some personal financial courses and started to calculate how much money was required for him to initiate a business entity. In the class, he learned how to use the spreadsheet or the graphs to monitor his spending and expenditure early on. He was eventually able to save a large sum of money to have his own business, where he applied the same knowledge and skill, and his business has hence been booming.

Irrefutably, some dissidents may disavow my arguments by claiming that cooking or auto repair class might be more beneficial for high-school students. For instance, high-school students can learn how to eat healthy. They could know the nutritional values in all sorts of food products and materials once they learn how to cook. On the other hand, students learning how to repair cars can help them save some money since they do not have to send their cars for maintenance and repairs. However, have these people forgotten that the immediacy of using these skills is not as much as that of knowing how to manage money? That is, managing money is not only crucial but urgent since high-school students need to learn how to budget their money wisely for their future use, such as tuition for college or funds for start-ups. Have these people not realized that having a correct mindset of how to use money takes precedence? If high-school students waste money on superfluous items, their future will be dimmed. Therefore, acquiring a correct financial concept is paramount. After all, as Benjamin Franklin commented, “An investment in knowledge pays the best interest.”