How do movies and television influence people's behavior.? Give reasons and examples to support your answer.
Movies are popular because people are great watchers. They like to watch other
peoples' lives. They like to live vicariously. By going to movies, we can escape
our own lives, share other people's emotions, and imagine ourselves as
someone else.
Many of our lives are not as adventurous or glamorous as the lives in movies.
We do not battle evil all day long and then go back to our luxurious penthouse
apartment. We just go to school, do our homework, eat, talk to our friends, and
sleep. We need a little excitement in our lives and we find excitement at the
movies.
Humans are very emotional people. We all like to cry and laugh. Fortunately,
there is not much to cry about in my life so I like to go to sad movies where my
heartstrings can be tugged. I also like to go to comedies so that I can laugh. I
tend to cry and laugh more in a dark movie theater than I do in broad daylight.
Now I am a student, but I know someday I will be a scientist or a politician or a
famous model. When I go to the movies, I can see my role models. I see how
they act, what they wear, how they talk. I can prepare myself for the day when I
will be like them.
Even though my life is quiet, I can go to the movies and watch someone else's
life. I can share their emotions and their everyday life. I wonder if they would
like to share mine.