If you are required to give feedback about your classmates/colleagues (work or performance), would you like to give positive comments or negative comments first?

There is no doubt that nowadays, giving feedback plays a key role in breakthrough. Due to its paramount importance, no one can deny the direct and indirect effects of reviewing on progressing. Even though some people are inclined toward the opinion that giving positive comments to friends should be prior, some others may take an opposite viewpoint. From my vantage point, the latter belief is true. In what follows, I pinpoint my compelling reasons to vindicate my perspective.

The first noteworthy reason regarding the issue is that first comment has more effects than another comment. It axiomatic that when you are listening to your friends' belief about your work, you pay attention more to their first comment. It is obvious that when our friends ask us to give them our feedback, they eager to identify their weak point in order to improve their work quality. For instance, last year, one of my friends was working on his final project and he requested me to review his thesis, although he had done his project roughly flawless, I bold its defect first. After that I commented of his work positively but he just thought about problems and did not pay attention to me a lot. Consequently, he focused on the weakness carefully and fix them up. Thanks to my precious experience which was a case in point, I daresay that we should give negative feedback first.

The second pivotal point that I want to delve into is that when you start your review first with concentrating on negative feedback, you have more time to find a solution to fix it. It means that you have enough time to think about a practical way to efface the weakness while you are talking about a strengthen point of your friends' work. Besides, some of negative feedbacks will be solved by some issues which are included in positive. To shed light on the reason, I would like to draw your attention to my personal experience. When I was a sophomore in university, I had to work on final projects which are related to my major course. After I had done it, I visited my T.A. to take her feedback about my work. In this project I should simulate a telecommunication system with mathematical model and block diagram. Firstly, she focused on my block diagram and she said that it was not appropriate for your project, but as a time goes on, she found my mathematical model very swell and later that she said that she thought about my block diagram problem during his giving positive feedback and found its solution finally. Ultimately, she suggested me to pursue my project at mathematical content. I believe that it is a good example because had my T.A. not focused on my weakness, I would not have solved my problem by my strengthen point.

To recapitulate the discussion of the all points mentioned above, I should state that giving negative feedback is more sensible. Not only has first comment more effect, but also you have an enough time to find a solution for weak points. It is hard to disguise the fact that when our friends ask us, they want to find the flaw of their work. All in all, it is anticipated that we give negative comments first.