If you could change one important thing about your hometown, what would you change? Use reasons and specific examples to support your answer

I was born in my a small town called Ranchi in the eastern part of India. When i grew up in moved out of my town for higher education and better job prospects. Although i do not stay there anymore but i like to visit my hometown occasional to meet my parents and other relatives. Ranchi is a peaceful town with good schools and other facilities. However, few things have remained unchained since so many years.

One of the things that i would like to change in my home town is the poor drainage system. During rainy seasons there is water logging on the roads and it takes days for the pooled water to clear from the roads. This water gradually becomes muddy. Commuting becomes difficult during the rainy seasons, specially when the precipitation is heavy. The water which collects in the potholes on the roads becomes breeding ground from many infectious diseases such as dengue.

The rainy reason adversely affects the daily life. many schools have to remain closed, because the school bus service cannot function. People waste a lot of time in travel to their work. In general, every year the rainy season poses a serious threat.Even after the water is cleared, the potholes jeopardize driving on these irregular roads. One day my cousin met with an accident while he was coming back from work at night because he couldn't see a pot hole

The local authorities and the municipality seem to wake up only after the rain to mend the damaged roads.So many years have passed and the same problem repeats itself because the root cause is not rectified. It is about time that the government makes efforts to development new drainage in the city. I am planning to write a letter to the authorities to bring there attention towards this problem.

Technology has advanced and such kind of problem should not be existing in this era. There is no excuse for the State government for this negligence. This problem of bad drainage has prevailed since decade. Many non governmental organizations are trying to focus the attention of the government towards the issue and also raising public awareness towards the same. I really hope that my city has better drainage facilities next time i visit them