176.Holidays honor people or events. If you could create a new holiday, what person or event would it honor and how would you want people to celebrate it? Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

There are many holidays in my country which are given to honour famous personalities. Gurunanak Jayanti, Gandhi Jayanti, Mahavir Jayanti are to name a few. The significance of these holidays are to pay homage to these great personalities who have carved the religious and political history of India. It is a way to thank these great people for their contributions. There are public Holidays are also for important events such as the Republic day and the independence day They are meant to commemorate these event and to remind us how our country attained independence and developed its own democratic and republic contribution.

The person that i would like to honor would be Mother Teresa. Mother Teresa was a one of the few renowned people who have been able to create an impact on the lives of common people in India. She is well know for her services towards the uplifting the poor and downtrodden in our country. She has won the noble prize for her tireless efforts and her undying attitude towards the weaker section of the society. At one time, India was divided by caste system and the people belonging to the lower castes were deprived of basic amenities of life like food and shelter. Mother Teresa helped them by lending her helping hand. She had developed many orphanages and other welfare centers for the much neglected class of the society.

The most remarkable achievement of Mother Teresa was her efforts towards saving the girl child and educating them. She developed a series of schools named by Sacred Heart for education of Girls. She made sure that the many orphan girls who were abandoned by there parents received tender loving care. There are many other things that she did for the welfare of the society. She can be considered an epitome of Altruism and personification of sacrifice. She is truly a holy spirit.

The life of Mother Teresa is an inspiration for many. she has been honored and awarded posthumously for her services. But i feel this is not enough. In my opinion her birthday should be celebrated as a sacred heart day. By doing so it we will remember her and try to emulate her goodness in our own life.