Some people trust their first impression about a person s character because they believe these judgments are generally correct Other people don t judge a person s character quickly because they believe first impressions are often wrong

It is a common saying that First impression is the best impression. Some people make there views and opinion about people instantly after meeting them for the very first time. Other, take time to analyze the person based on his or her capabilities and then arrive at an opinion based on them.

First impression are mostly based on instinct. Nowadays most of the job interviews are conducted based on first impressions. A person who has been able to influence the people conducting the interview is able to secure the job. My cousin is who is a computer scientist has excellent academic records. But during her first interview with a reputed international software company, she failed to impresses the employers. One of the interviewer even commented that he felt that my cousin was rude. She was very disappointed and realized the importance of making the First impression. One more example is the love at first sight seen in teenagers and youngsters. Most of the feeling are infatuations developed are based on the appearance at the first look. Such feelings, however,do not last long.

When i was recruited as a dental officer in a rural area in India, I had a unique experience with my supervisor. he came across as a very strict person and i instantly developed a hatred for him. Later, i realized that my impression about him was wrong and he was strict because he was concerned about the safety of his colleagues since the area was prone to occasional attacks by anti social elements and terrorists.

In my opinion, First impressions are mostly based on emotional response and less on intellectual judgement. Scientific evidence has proven the fact that first impressions are generally based on false assumptions and hence in most of the cases they are generally wrong. One should not be hasty in making opinion about other people. I strongly believe in this principle and try to follow the same while make decisions or choices in my own life.