If you need to take a course, which professor‘s course would you like to take?a professor who was voted the most populara professor who has just won an award for an outstanding research

Barely can a student deny that one of the most crucial factors for selecting a course is its professor characteristic. Following that, what features an excellent professor should have has become a controversial topic of discussion. Although one notion is that a great professor must have outstanding research in his field, to be the best of my knowledge, I subscribe to the theory that a professor which the students like her most would be superior to the one who has an outstanding award for research.

The first vital point to bear in mind is that professor popularity is a sign of students’ satisfaction form the course he teaches. In other words, if students did not have a pleasant experience with the course, the professor would not be famous at all. Besides that, being happy means the students have learned better the materials of the course, and they have been more comfortable with the teacher. As a result, they could have asked pertinent questions without concern whenever they have not understood any part of each lesson. These are the main factor for the professor of the class in which everyone can learn better. Therefore, the more popular a professor is, the better the teacher is.

Moreover, the second noteworthy reason is that being a good researcher is not necessarily means that the professor is an influential lecturer too. Strictly speaking, for being a good teacher various factors get involved. One of these factors is research ability; however, there are some other factors such as how correctly convey the context of lessons to students and how the students can understand what the lecturer tries to teach them, which are more important than being a great researcher. I have to admit that my experience on this matter has profoundly influenced by my own personal experience. During the second year of university, I had two options for my Discrete Events Simulation course, a lovely professor presented one, and another was presented by a famous professor for his recent research. I chose the second one, but unfortunately, things did not go well since the lecturer I choose was terrible at teaching. Therefore, I could not have understood anything from none of the classes I attended. Consequently, I eliminate the course from my schedule that semester. It was foolish of me to do not choose the professor in favor.

Thus, with the above in mind, not only could a popular professor be a better lecturer, but also, having prominent research could not guarantee the quality of teaching. Therefore, it is highly suggested that students choose the well-liked professor.