Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Children rely too much on the technology, like computers, smart phones, video games for fun and entertainment. Playing simpler toys or playing outside with friends would be better for children’s dev

Nowadays, not only has become technology an integral part of adults' daily life but also children use television and video games as their recreation. Following that, the controversial question which arises here is: What is the better option for children's development? Computer games or outsides activities? Some people are inclined to the notion that playing with simple toys and hang out with friends would be a superior choice for children's growth. Since playing outside with friends can help them to be more sociable, and it improves their physical health, to the best of my knowledge, I firmly agree with this statement.

The first vital point to bear in mind is that socialization is a crucial skill which everyone needs to learn in the early years of life. It will be hard to develop this skill unless children participate in society, find friends, and play games with them. When children interact with each other, they learn ways of better communication. For instance, consider a child who wanted to join a new group of friends. She would try to attract the group members' attention by showing their common interest on a subject such as being a fan of the same football team. As a result, she would learn this ability and improve it step by step. Later, when she grew up, she would know how she can become a member of a big company she likes.

The second noteworthy reason is that doing outside activities has a great influence on children’s physical health. These days, obesity has become a severe problem in developed societies. Studies show that near the half of children whose age between 5 to 10 are overweight. One of the reasons which can cause this phenomenon is that children have become more interested in indoor entertainment such as video games which do not include much physical activity. Although some people believed that it is not a big deal, and children will lose weight when they grow up; some children suffer from serious disease attributed to being fat. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter has been profoundly influenced by my own personal experience. You see, my cousin is a ten-year-old child who spends much of his time on playing video games, he has around 70 kilograms weight which is abnormally high for a boy in his age. Unfortunately, because of insufficient physical activities now he is suffering from diabetes at this young age. I think, if he had done more outdoor activities, he has presumably been in a healthier condition.

Thus, with the above in mind, playing outside with friends will promote children's sociability and improve their physical health. Consequently, it is highly recommended that parents encourage their children to perform more outside activities and participate more in outdoor games with their friends.