If you want to change one aspect to improve your health, which would you choose? Why?

1. The kinds of food you eat

2. The amount of the exercise you do

3. The amount of the stress in your life

In this world, health is the cornerstone of everybody’s desired life. In this regard, people try different ways to improve their well-being, three of the most important strategies can be healthy diets, controlling the amount of exercising, or coping with the quantity of stress. I personally believe that the third option is more effective due to two main reasons which will be demonstrated in the following essay.

First and foremost, the most pivotal role of stress on impacting health is contributing, direct or indirect, to the very dangerous cardiovascular diseases such as heart attack. In other words, recent research has pointed out that individuals who have undergone several stressful life events in their lifetime have a very high probability of facing these types of illnesses. To expand, having a defined amount of stress can even have a positive effect on life, but chronic stress can harm people’s health; facing stressors continuously leads to elevated hormones such as cortisol resulting in symptoms like headache, high blood pressure, and heart palpitations. Consequently, people in such conditions would be more susceptible to illnesses correlated to the aforementioned symptoms. Now, no one can cast a shadow of doubt on the fact that regular exercising alleviates or reduces tension, but the truth is that it cannot prevent it or get rid of it completely. To make the explanation more clear, a young man in our neighborhood had a corporation. His logic for the healthy life was: get up early, go to the factory, ride to the gym at night, and eat the foods doctors write a prescription for them!. But he neglected that he had ignored a crucial factor, live in peace. After he got a heart attack, doctors forbade him from eating or working in a stressful atmosphere. Therefore, for a healthier life, individuals need to prevent life-threatening diseases by controlling the amount of stress.

Last but not least, a stressful life can cause low self-esteem resulting in mental illnesses like depression and isolation, the presence of which is a pivotal element in the healthy life. A painful fact is that today’s world suffers from epidemic of low self-esteem which is tied up with a vital factor called stressful life conditions-- financial troubles, being bullied, relationship breakdowns, and so forth on; when people experience such conditions, they think they are treated worthless by others resulting in doubting in themselves. In the meantime, they would escape from people and become isolated ending up in deep depressions and anxiety, which could cause them to harm themselves physically or mentally— suicide, drugs, and bad diet habits. By managing stress, however, people can have a very positive self-image which would cause them to interact with as many people as they can which would bring a much happier life.

To sum up, by managing stress one can not only reduce the probability of being vulnerable to hypertension-related illnesses but also psychological distresses such as lack of self-respect; it impacts two vital factors in the healthy lifestyle.