If your friend makes a mistake, do you prefer to say nothing or do ‎something even if it ends your friendship? ‎

Without a shadow of doubt the way that people manage their relationships with their friends play a ‎prominent role in every individual’s life. Some people are proponents of the claim that when we face a ‎friend’s mistake, we should just ignore it; however, others hold the opposite perspective and believe that it ‎is our responsibility to react to a friend’s wrong action even at the cost of losing the mentioned friend. The ‎idea to which I subscribe is the latter one. My viewpoint is based on quite a few reasons, two ones of ‎which have been elaborated upon hereunder.‎

The first vital point to bear in mind is that as a friend it is one of our rudimentary duties to be help our ‎friends be a better version of themselves. By making them aware of their mistakes, our friends can get ‎familiar with their flaws and try to make it right. Moreover, if they hear from the people who they regard ‎them as friends, they would really think about what their opinion is, because of the fact that friends trust ‎each other. My own experience is a good example of this matter. I always use my sense of humor to ‎communicate with others, yet sometimes I overuse this technique without even realizing it. One day I was ‎talking to my professor and after he left, one of my close friends told me that I should not use my sense of ‎humor while discussing serious matters, for it would make me look cheap. At first I was even offended by ‎his opinion, but after I got home, I really thought about what he said and realized that he was right and ‎eventually I tried to manage my sense of humor.‎

The second noteworthy reason is that doing something about our friend’s mistake can strengthen our ‎friendship. The fact is friendship does not happen by its own, for it needs individuals to spend time and ‎energy to make it stronger. Furthermore, the thing that differentiates a friendship from a regular ‎relationship is honesty and it is not always easy to be honest but it is necessary for us to be honest in order ‎to fortify our friendship with our friends. A case in point is my own friendship with the person, who I ‎already mentioned in the last paragraph. After he illuminated me of my wrong action, our friendship ‎became stronger, for I had this feeling that he is trustworthy and I felt as I should try to be a trustable ‎friend for him too and make him aware of the possible wrong actions, which he might take.‎

In short, all the aforementioned reasons lead us to the conclusion that we should make our friends aware ‎of the mistakes they make as it would assist them to be a better version of themselves and it can ‎eventually strengthen our friendship.‎