If you are required to give feedback about your ‎classmates/colleagues (work or performance), would you like to give ‎positive comments or negative comments first?‎

Without a shadow of doubt, the way that we express our feelings towards others’ actions ‎can play a prominent role, in the way, in which they would process the information. Some ‎people are proponents of the claim that while giving feedback, we should start by pointing ‎out the negative comments and only then give positive comments; however, others, hold the ‎opposite perspective and believe that while giving feedback, we should start by uttering ‎positive points and then talk about the negative aspects. The idea, to which I subscribe, is ‎the latter one. My viewpoint is based on quite a few reasons, two compelling ones of which ‎have been elaborated upon hereunder.‎

The first vital point to bear in mind is that if we start to give positive comments first while ‎giving feedback, it would make the person who is getting feedback more confident about ‎himself. Most of the time, getting negative comments for our actions, makes us feel as if we ‎are incapable of doing the things, which we are supposed to do. Moreover, when someone ‎gets to know that he is doing a good job while having a couple of mistakes, it is more likely ‎that he would try to work on his flaws, as he is confident of himself and knows that he can ‎perform even better of himself. My own experience is a good example of this matter. When I ‎started my first job, I was extremely stressed, for I did not know if I was doing a good job or ‎not. Additionally, this bad feeling made me nervous all the time and I felt as if it was impotent ‎in my job. As the end of the first month came, my boss came to me to talk about my ‎performance. As he started to give his feedback, he gave the positive comments first and it ‎made me a lot more confident about myself.‎

The second noteworthy reason is that when we start to give feedback by pointing out ‎negative facets first, people might not want to hear what we are actually saying, as they ‎become defensive towards the reviewer. Moreover, the goal of giving feedback is to consider ‎everything reasonably and it is really hard for some people to think logically, while they ‎are getting offensive. A case in point is my friend who always had a lot of problems with ‎being criticized. Once his manager was giving him feedback about his performance and he ‎started by stating the negative points and since my friend did not like to be criticized, he ‎became defensive and it ended up in a fight, as he considered the feedback as a personal ‎attack. Had his boss not started reviewing my friend’s performance by the bad parts, he ‎might not have gotten defensive about the feedback.‎

In short, all the aforementioned reasons lead us to the conclusion that while giving feedback ‎about someone’s action it is better to start by giving positive comments first, for it can make ‎the one who is getting the feedback more confident of himself and it can eliminate the ‎potential possibility of getting defensive.‎