Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Drivers have to pay a fee ‎for driving in busy city streets when there is a great amount of traffic. Use specific ‎reasons and examples to support your opinion.‎

Without a shadow of doubt, traffic is one of the most important disadvantages of modern societies. ‎Some people are proponents of the belief that governments should charge people for driving in busy city ‎streets; however, others hold the opposite perspective and believe that government should not do such a ‎thing and it should be free for people to drive anywhere they want, without regarding the amount of ‎traffic. The idea, to which I subscribe, is the latter one. My viewpoint is based on quite a few reasons, two ‎compelling ones of which have been elaborated upon hereunder.‎

The first vital point to bear in mind is that charging people to drive in the busy hours can push them to use ‎public transport more often. In my experience, most of the time, people are not in favor of paying money ‎to the government, therefore when they face with such a law, they would choose to use public transport ‎instead of their personal cars. Additionally, it can decrease the traffic too, for the more people use the ‎public transport, the less traffic would happen. My own experience is a good example of this matter. I used ‎to live in Tehran and I had to drive to my working place every day and it took at least two hours to reach to ‎the place, because of the heavy traffic. One day the municipality of our city stated that we had to pay a ‎certain amount of money to drive in the busy hours, in which traffic was happening. Hence, I thought ‎about the fee and since in my eyes it was more than I was willing to pay, from then, I took the bus to get to ‎my office and interestingly, I got to realize that it was more efficient than I thought, for it took me just half ‎an hour to get to my working place. Had I not tried public transport, I would not have realized such a ‎thing.‎

The second noteworthy reason is that governments can use the fee to invest it in making new roads and ‎developing public transport. Naturally, when people pay the fee to drive in the busy hours, the government ‎would have a new source of income, which can be invested in improving roads and public transport which ‎can eventually decrease traffic. A case in point is the same city which was mentioned in the last paragraph. ‎After they charged people for driving in those busy hours, they allocated a large sum of money on making ‎Bus Rapid Transit system (in short BRT) which gave us the opportunity to use busses, which had their own ‎roads and would not face any traffic.‎

In short, all the aforementioned reasons lead us to the conclusion that it is better to charge people for ‎driving in the busy hours, in which there are lots of traffic going on, for more people would use public ‎transport, instead of their own cars and government can invest the money on building roads and improving ‎public transport.‎