Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Without a shadow of doubt, different values of individuals have played a prominent role in the way that ‎our society forms. Some people are of the claim that teachers can make their social or political views ‎known to their students; however, others hold the opposite perspective and belief that it cannot be a good ‎idea for teachers to have their students aware of their social and political values. The idea to which I ‎subscribe is the latter one. My viewpoint is based on quite a few reasons, two compelling ones of which ‎have been elaborated upon hereunder.‎

The first vital point to bear in mind is that it is possible that some students just take their teachers views or ‎values and utter them as it was originally their own value without really knowing the reasons behind the ‎view. In other words, it is really important for students to shape their own values based on critical thinking. ‎As a case in point I can recall a classmate of mine while I was a senior at the university. One of our ‎professors was a well-known successful scientist and he was my classmate’s role model. Also, he ‎was open to declare his social and political views all the time and what happened was that once in a ‎discussion, my classmate started to utter his values in an exact manner that our professor did back ‎then, it was ok until we realized that he could not explain why he held these views for real. ‎

The second noteworthy reason is that it may distract students if they were aware of their teacher’s social ‎and political views. most of the time, different social and political views can potentially bring up a ‎contentious discussion, in which so many students get involved and totally digress the actual subject of the ‎class which is the lesson that should be presented by the professor. Furthermore, since the effects of the ‎political and social matters are generally experienced by people through their quotidian lives in the society, ‎most of the people hold their own value or are even biased about it, therefore if they know that their ‎teacher’s view on something, take for example political is against them, it is of likelihood that they would ‎not be able to concentrate on the class material and become distracted. For example once when I was at ‎high school there was an election going on in the country and my teacher openly revealed his favorite ‎candidate and why he believes in the values of the party that he was coming from. As he was done with ‎stating his beliefs, he continued to teach our regular lesson. Additionally, as he was teaching, one of my ‎classmates could not focus on the subject that was being presented by the teacher for he was not in favor ‎of our teacher’s view and it ended up in making a debate between him and our teacher and completely ‎deviated the classes focus from the lesson.

In short, all the aforementioned reasons lead us to the conclusion that it would be better if children were ‎not aware of their teachers comments on social and political matters as it can stop the development of ‎their ability to think critically and has the potential to distract them of what is important in the class, ‎which is learning the matter that is being presented by the professor.‎