Which one do you think is the most important for high school teacher (age from 15 to 18)?‎

o the ability to give students advice to plan for their future

o the ability to find which students need help and provide them with help

o the ability to encourage students to learn by themselves outside of the classroom

Without a shadow of doubt, the learning methods that any individual developed can differ from one ‎another, yet no one can repudiate teachers’ roles in teaching not just a specific lesson but a method of ‎learning. Some people are the proponents of the claim that a high school teacher’s most important duty is ‎to teach merely the curriculum he is supposed to teach; however, others hold another perspective and ‎believe that the most important duty of a high school teacher is to encourage students to learn by ‎themselves. The idea, to which I subscribe, is the latter one. My viewpoint is based on quite a few reasons, ‎two of which have been elaborated upon hereunder.‎

The first vital point to bear in mind is that one of the high school teachers’ goals should be preparing ‎students for the university, for most of the high school students are going to continue their studies in the ‎university. Moreover, the university’s materials are harder to learn as they are harder and at the same time ‎students have less time to learn them. As a result, were they not able to learn on their own, they would not ‎have a good understanding of the materials they are supposed to study. My own experience is a ‎compelling example of this matter. After I was done with high school, I pursued my studies in medical ‎school. At the end of the first semester, most of my classmates were having a lot of trouble, coping with ‎the new situation in which they had to learn different materials on their own, therefore, they failed in a ‎couple of units, but unlike them, I got an A in most of my units, since my high school teacher had prepared ‎me for the university by teaching me how to learn on my own.‎

The second noteworthy reason is that if people know how to learn on their own, they would be more self-‎confident. As we get older, we are going to be in different situations, in which we should deal with new ‎impediments. Moreover, considering the fast pace of the technology’s development, we should always ‎keep learning new things to be always up-to-date. As a case in point, when I started doing research in ‎graduate school, my professor told me that he needed me to know the programming language R and ‎Photoshop, so we could use them in the research projects. Furthermore, not only was I not familiar with ‎them, but also there were not any classes at the moment, but since I knew, I could figure it out on my own, ‎I started to learn them using YouTube and practicing without the help of a supervisor.‎

In short, all the aforementioned reasons lead us to the conclusion that the most important role of a high ‎school teacher is to encourage children to learn by themselves, for it can help them to prevail over the ‎upcoming challenges in the university and it can augment their self-confidence.‎