Which of the following is the most effective way for parents to get children (aged ‎‎3-6) ready for the start of the school?‎

‎1. Providing appropriate books for children to learn how to read‎

‎2. Reading books aloud for children‎

‎3. Improving children's communication skill by engaging in conversation with ‎adults

Without a shadow of doubt communication skills play a prominent role in every individual’s life. Some ‎people are the proponents of the claim that it would not make much difference if parents try to improve ‎their children’s communication skill, as it is something that comes naturally; however, others hold the ‎opposite perspective and believe that even talking with adults can significantly develop young children’s ‎communication skill. The idea to which I subscribe is the latter one. My viewpoint is based on quite a few ‎reasons, two of which have been elaborated upon hereunder.‎

The first vital point to bear in mind is that the ability to socialize with others is considered a determining ‎factor in today’s society, for an individual who can make an impact on others by socializing with them can be ‎regarded as someone charismatic. Moreover, since someone with better communication skills can make a lot of ‎people aware of his abilities, it is of likelihood for him to be offered by interesting job positions. A case in ‎point is my best friend who is a great businessman despite his young age. He was great at ‎communicating with others even as a high school student. As a result, when he started his business in ‎marketing, he could develop his business relatively easy compared to others.‎

The second noteworthy reason is that improving children’s communication skills can eventually end up in ‎increasing their confidence. Most of the time, children tend to talk to their relatives and while facing a ‎stranger, it is plausible that they would try to shy away and avoid conversation. Moreover, this low ‎confidence can even make them nervous in social gatherings. My own experience is a good example of ‎this matter. When I was a child, I used to be extremely shy in a way that even my voice shook harshly while ‎talking to others (even people who were just a little older than me) and my self-esteem was low. As a ‎consequence, when I started to go to school, I had a hard time finding friends and even at one point ‎became isolated, for I was not able to communicate with others.‎

In short, all the aforementioned reasons lead us to the conclusion that it is better for children to have ‎better communication skills, for they can socialize easier and enjoy the assets of making contact with ‎others and it would increase their self-confidence.‎