Imagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting. The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect in your opinion, which of the following is the best thing to do?

* Interrupt and correct the mistake right away

* Wait until the class or meeting is over and the people are gone, and then talk to the teacher or meeting leader

* Say nothing

There is no shortage of debate about how to respond when an authority figure, such as a teacher or boss, says something inaccurate. In my opinion, I would point out in the same meeting or during the class, the mistake made by the person right away. I feel this way for two main reasons that I will explain in the following essay.

Firstly, I think it is important to state a correct concept if someone has said something I know is wrong, so that other students don’t learn something incorrectly. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. Approximately 10 years ago, I remember being in a history class and my teacher was talking about World War II. I noticed he said wrong a specific date. Moreover, he continued explaining the timeline of the facts based on this. When I noticed that something was wrong, I did not need to think so much, and I just raised my hand and told him he had confused the year and which was correct. As a result, all my classmates could learn properly the topic as well as my teacher was glad that I had pointed the error out for him.

Secondly, it is a good way for the teacher or a boss can notice that you are aware of the lesson or the subject being discussed in the meeting. For instance, when I was working for a marketing business, I needed some feedback from my coworkers. The way I as leader, was able to know that they understood the presentation being exposed, occurred when one colleague told me I was wrong. After that, everyone realized it was OK to talk out loud in a secure environment. Therefore, they assumed it is correct to quickly discuss incorrect thoughts.

In conclusion, it is fine to tell a teacher or a group leader when they have made an error. This is because all the others present can correct the fault and because it allows us to have a respectful interchange of ideas.