President Piñera should be impeached.

When something doesn’t work well, or worst, when a deep social crisis is happening, societies need someone or a group of people who will be responsible for the problem, in direct or political way. In my opinion, many people must go to trial, and some of them must go to jail. But I think president Piñera shouldn´t be impeached and he mustn’t quit for the charge. I feel this for two reasons, which I will explain in the following essay.

First of all, a hypothetical impeached against Piñera and also a possible resignation could be a risk for Chile´s democracy. Maybe without an official president, violence will be more and more common, and looters and vandals will act freely, and also economic safe will be in risk. Historically, accusations against presidents didn’t finish very well for people, it´s true that is more common accusations against corrupt presidents, or when a president try to modify the constitution in his favor (Bolivia case). In these cases, it´s fine impeached the authorities, because they acted very bad and also betrayed the people. But in the case of Piñera, it’s something a little more difficult, because it’s like an indirect accusation. Where more responsibility falls to his authority as a president rather than by facts that he directly drew up and carried out.

On the other hand, politicians, in the National Congress, don´t have enough votes to win the accusation. And also, I think we are not living a moment for the president quit. That only will bring more social crisis, and nobody will want to take the control of nation. In this way, if society or some politicians want to change the government, they shouldn’t impeach the President, because Piñera is only the leader, behind the president are many people, and they will continue govern Chile. Another point, is that people recently (2 years) voted for this government, so despite the current discontent, and to maintain control and democracy we have to pressure to politics to change different points of actual system, but keeping the current president and government, and in 2020 if citizens will want a change, other political force maybe could win. In this way, despite agreeing with the president or not, we must support democratic times.

In conclusion, I believe the president Piñera shouldn´t be impeached. This is for the possible risk for Chile´s democracy, and all the consequences that it brings like more violence and economics risks. And also, because the accusation doesn´t have enough support by all politicians, so it’s only a symbolic action.