Imagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting. The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect In your opinion, which of the following is the best thing to do?

-Interrupt and correct the mistake right away

-Wait until the class or meeting is over and the people are gone, and then talk to the teacher or meeting leade

-Say nothing

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nobody is perfect and people sometimes make mistakes when they speak in front of others, and it is crucial to point out to the errors. However, I personally think that any correction should be done in a private environment, especially if the speaker is a teacher or a leader of a group. There are a few reasons why I hold this opinion.

First of all, talking to a boss about his mistake afterward is the most polite way of correcting him. If a subordinate corrects a chief in front of other workers, it can harm his career since the leader may consider such an attitude offensive. My brothers experience is a compelling example of this. When during one meeting, my sibling told his manager about an inaccuracy in a monthly report made by the boss, the manager felt embarrassed. As a result, every day after this incident, the manager was looking for a reason to embarrass my brother in front of colleagues until my sibling finally quit the job. That is why it is better to correct a leader when nobody else can hear.

Secondly, interruption during a meeting can negatively affect the results of the gathering. If someone starts talking about an error made by a meeting leader right away, the discussion can turn to a different direction and the questions, which supposed to be discussed can be left behind. For instance, in my pharmacy, we have limited time for the staff briefings and during this time span, we have to talk about really important for our work routine thing, such as about ways to serve our patients in the best way. If someone on the team interrupts our supervisor when she speaks, it causes unexpected discussions. In fact, we lose the precious time and eventually do not talk over truly significant topics. In this way, the effectiveness of the meetings suffers.

To conclude, I strongly believe that it is pivotal to correct a leader when an assembly is over. This is because it helps to maintain positive relationships with the supervisor and increases the effectiveness of the huddle.