Imagine that you have been given the opportunity to advise the government of a city or region (area) that you are familiar with to spend more money on ONE thing to benefit the city or region. Which ONE of these do you believe would be the most beneficial for the city or region? Why?

-Providing more affordable housing

-Reducing air and water pollution

-Attracting new businesses to the city or region

If I have enough expertise to advise the government of one thing that can benefit the city or region, some people would undoubtedly suggest the government to provide more affordable housing. Others would recommend the government to reduce air and water pollution. Still others claim that attracting new businesses to the city or region is the most favorable approach. For me, I believe that attracting new businesses is the best approach. My reasons are as follows.

To begin with, the government should place more emphasis on the economy, and suggesting the government attract new businesses to the city or region can boost the local economy and benefit the city. As an example, the Hsinchu City government wanted to incorporate computer technologies by createing several information-science related job opportunities. Therefore, thousands of IT companies decided to reside in Hsinchu, and these prestigious companies leaded to the increasing number of book stores, schools, movie theaters, etc. Several decades later, the whole economy of Hsinchu City skyrocketed, and Hsinchu become the third most prosperous city in Taiwan. On the other hand, four years ago, the Miaoli County government planned to provide a more affordable housing price by forcibly enacting the "Miaoli County Minimum Housing Price Decree". Nevertheless, the local economy of Miaoli County collapsed because no housing firm wanted to establish in Miaoli County. Apparently, offering more affordable prices is not a good idea.

In addition, the government should try its best to earn money, and attracting new businesses to the city or region can help it procure a significant amount of budget, which in turns benefit the whole city. For instance, several years ago, the Taipei City government established a regulation that attracted numerous electrical engineering firms to reside in Neihu District. These companies and organizations required a considerable amount of resource, including water, electricity, and so on. Therefore, each company paid approximately more than three billion dollars of tax in total every year to the Taipei City goverment. As a result, the Taipei City government procured lots of money and spent that budget on assisting these companies in producing high quiality silicons, leading to a vicious cycle. Contrarily, recommending the government to reduce air and water by investing in solar energy or windmill companies might make it waste too much money. This is because solar panels and windmills are deplorably expensive.

In conclusion, if I have enough knowledge to advise the government of one thing that can benefit a city, I would undoubtedly recommend it to attract new businesses due to the aforementioned reasons.