Independent TOEFL essay - TPO 1: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

As studying has been part of our lives nowadays, scientists are trying to find better ways to optimize the quality of studying. In a research published in a newspaper named “Hamshahri”, they have mentioned the importance of social activities on students’ life. But the important question is whether it is worth of spending time and finance on it. From my point of view, I think it is one of the ways to increase the quality of education in universities and colleges for the following reasons: helps them to learn teamwork, to be healthy and learn about social life. In this essay, I will discuss the mentioned reasons.

First, being able to have social activities and doing sports helps students to learn teamwork. They get the chance to learn how to get along with others and be an effective part of a program. It makes them to realize how important it is to do their job as well as they are capable. For example, back in my days in university, I took part in events as project manager and I was responsible to monitor my team’s responsibilities. It made me realize the necessity of each and everyone’s presence in order to be successful as a team.

Second, taking time to do sports will help us to have a healthy body and mind. Therefore, it helps students to focus on their major better than those who do not take part. Doing sports also increases the rate of adrenaline in body, and it helps us to be more motivated and makes the brain more focused while doing our homework and researches.

Last but not least, it helps us to learn more about social life. The universities not only have the responsibility of teaching students about their field of studies but also they have to teach them how to be socialized and learn them the rules of communication which will have a major role in their future working life. As they have to learn how to be in touch with their boss, colleagues, etc.

To sum it up, I think sports and social activities are worth of investing in universities and colleges. It helps students to learn their subjects better and have a healthy lifestyle. It has a great impact in students’ life whether short term or even long term.