Independent TOEFL essay - TPO 3: Agree or disagree: It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

Friendship is one of the most important part of our life. Having good friends around brings more pleasure to our life. While some believe it is more important to make new friends and have fun all the time, others think keeping old friends is more advantagous. I think keeping old friends is more important and my reasons go as follows.

First of all, old friends have past history together. Their friendship is based on mutual interest. Thus, this makes it easier to know their personality and their behavior. They can get along easier. In other words, due to having more time to evaluate each other in different situation they have better underestanding . Therefore, they would have fewer misunderstandings and struggles . For example, when I spend my time with my old friends which I know them very well and we have lots of memory together, we have fantastic moments. We laugh at our past unluckiness and have fewer conflicts .Thus, we enjoy our time more because we know about our sentivisities and thresholds and try not to cross the line. In fact, during time we past through our conflicts and reach to the point that noting is more important than our friendship and the intimacy between us. So, With fewer arguments , we would have more fun and pleasure every time. Therefore, although making new friends help us to have more experience and access to verity of opinions , it can destroy our joy by conflicts and arguments due not knowing each other well. As a result, being with old friends is more predictable and desirable.

Moreover, due to having more time for evaluation, old friends are more trustworthy and reliable. In fact, old friends usually are better fit for having honest relationship. In other words, time is a good way of assessing the reliability of people. Most people show their real personality and charactristic during time when first impression fades away and reality reveals. For instance, when I have serious problem in my work or life ,I can only confide in my old friend who is honest and loyal and I feel safe to tell her my secrets. But this never occur with my new friends which I do not know them for a long time and can not trust them. Thanks to technology advancement, eventhough some of my old friends are far from me and there is long distance between us , we can chat and talk together. They always have time for me and listen to my words carefully and patiently. This experiences show that we can tell our secret only to our old friends who showed us their reliablity and honesty during time.

In addition, old friends are more helpful and can give better advice. In other words, old friends know more about our weaknesses and strengths. So, their suggestions are based on longlasting friendship and are more realistic. For example, in time of need my old friends are always my good and reliable consultants and I can get their advice and help even from far distance. They showed their behaviour during time and I can count on their support in any situation. Till now, I have received best support from my old friends’ side.They are for me like a precious gem. In time of my family disaster they were beside me and physically and emutionay helped me to stand up and move on. On the other hand, new friends do not know me very well and I can not count on their help and support in difficult and complicated situations. I am not comfortable to get help from them . Also, because they know me for a short time and may not give practical or even convenient advice. These experiences clearly illustrate that we can have more support and help from our old friends.

In conclusion, eventhough making new friends brings more excitement and new experience to our life, keeping old friends are more important. Not only they are more reliable but are also more helpful . No need to be said that most people feel intimate and safe when they are around their old close friends.