Independent TOEFL essay TPO 8 Agree or disagree Television advertising directed towards young children aged two to five should not be allowed

In my opinion, young children shouldn't be allowed to watch television advertisements because that would influence them drastically in a negative way even though they might seem to be able to amuse kids for a while. The effects might remain in their personality in the long term or might cause them to do some dangerous activity immediately.

First of all, most television commercials are not suitable for children and could disrupt their upbringing which their parent might plan to follow. For example, a child will be exposed and encouraged to some products which are not healthy for their body development. I remember when I was very young, and I loved watching an advertisement for a snack. It was visually intriguing, and there were other children enjoying eating those snacks. As a result, I was insisting my parents to buy them for me, whereas they kept refusing. Not only didn't I get those snacks, but also I hated my parents for not providing me with those.

Furthermore, children at these ages are so energetic and excited. Accordingly, since most advertisements are of high energy, they might stimulate children to release their potential excitement and bring about some tragedies. As a piece of evidence, when my cousin was five years old, he accidentally watched a tv commercial of a violent video game where there were players attacking each other with swords. The commercial triggered him to explore new adventures, and one day, I found him with a knife threatening the people in the family. I could understand that the source of the phenomenon was the mentioned tv advertisement because he was calling himself the name of the main character of the video game.

With all being said, children, particularly young ones, are vulnerable to the exposure to the visually attracting scenes because they don't have the power to distinguish the differences between the virtual world and the real one. Television advertisements are one of the most notable examples of these scenes that can significantly create physical or mental damages to the children.