Independent TOEFL essay - TPO 8: Agree or disagree? Television advertising directed towards young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed

Advertisement becomes very effectiveof for selling products. Nowadays people adopt different kinds of strategy to advertise their products such as newspapers, billboards or televisions. Those advertisements have both some advantage and some disadvantage. Some people think that television advertising directed towards young children such as aged two to five should not be allowed whereas, others think that television advertise is for all kinds of people including young children. In my opinion, I think television advertising directed towards young children should not be allowed.

First of all, in the early age, children learn what they see or what they listen. It is very important to give them a safe environment to grow up. It is the parent's duty to provide a safe and healthy environment. Sometimes, television advertises some kinds of thing that are not appropriate for children such as adult products, other cultures, or a dress-up that is not well. So, If they see bad things like these, which is not appropriate for them, that will hamper their growth. For instance, I can provide an appropriate example of how television influence behavior. My younger brother and one of my cousins are the same age. However, they grew up in a different situation. My brother was lived with our family and always taken care of by my mother. So, when he grew up in a good manner. But, my cousin grew up alone as his mother and father worked a lot. So, the watched television a lot and sometimes, in his early childhood he used to buy adult products. For this reason, his mental growth hampered seriously.

Second, an advertisement company should not make advertisement for children. Young children can see and listen but, they do know what is the meaning of them. So, If a company wants to sell a product the should concentrate more on parents and advertise more information about their products. For instance, babies have no idea what lotion is good and what are the consequences of using them. It is their parents who decide which lotion they use for their babies.

In conclusion, Television advertiser should more focus on content and the product and consider the negative and positive consequences of their product. They should stop making advertising targeting babies or young children.