Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The opinions of celebrities, such as famous entertainers and athletes, are more important to younger people than they are to older people.Use specific reasons and examples.

There is no shortage of doubt that general people are highly influenced by the opinions of celebrities. In my view, statements made by famous people tend to be more important for younger individuals rather than older generation. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, young people are more inclined towards movies, sports and celebrity lives. They take them as their real life hero and on some point want to become like them. On the other hand, old people are usually concerned with political matters, national and international news. With the growing use of social networking platforms like twitters and facebook, younger generation can easily have access to the doings and sayings of celebrities. My own experience is a compelling example of this. I usually follow a lot of celebrities. One of them started a campaign against rape in the country. Firstly she started with a poll in social media which gained a lot of attention. Then a massive program was conducted where people were called for support. Young people like me are instantly drawn by such ideas and we start supporting their theme.

Secondly, to increase fan followings, celebrities usually start something new that is beneficial to younger generation. In this way they can get more support from younger people. One simple example to illustrate this is that two comedians in my country decided to build a cricket stadium realizing its necessity. It will be obvious that young kids and young individuals will definitely support the theme while older people may remain indifferent. Older people view such celebrities as a source of entertainment only while younger generations also take them as a source of inspiration. So their sayings usually have greater importance in younger people’s life.