Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

As people move forward in their life more and more, they feel friends are quite essential in their journey for many reasons. Some people hold the view that it is important to get in touch with old friends continuously, while others have the notion that we should get along with new friends rather. In my perspective, old friends coupled with old memories makes our stressful life easier, so I think it is important to keep old friends. I will substantiate my viewpoint in forthcoming paragraphs emphasizing on two salient reasons.

To begin with, we can always share our deepest sorrow with old friend who understands us much better than our new colleagues. For instance, last summer I had a big tragedy right after leaving my home to start university life; I lost my grandmother whom I loved very much. On one hand, I could not concentrate in my study, while on other hand; I was not being able to participate in any kinds of social activities along with my new friends. Albeit, my new friends knew that I lost my grandmother, most of them only expressed a simple sympathy and went on to enjoy their life never caring for me. In contrast, my best friend, with whom I spent my entire childhood, flew from India to come to my place and comfort me. This was only because she knew how much I loved my grandmother and what trauma I would be going if I had to lose her. Since we spend a lot of time with our old friend, they generally understand our nature and can really help us during hard times.

Besides, we can always cherish good old memories with our old friends and feel motivated. Generally speaking, it takes a lot of time to get along with new friend and build that comfort zone and bond of trust with them. However, if we are in touch with our old friend, we can always cherish memories with them to get motivated. For instance, I was trying to along with a new friend in my university after my best friend returned back to India. However, after some months she started completely ignoring me as she made her new boyfriend. Though I was happy for her, deep inside I realized that people are selfish and they only care for themselves. Once again, I felt alone, however, this time I cherished all those moments that I spent with my childhood friends. I started calling them and sharing my stories. In fact, all those talks helped me to fill confidence and motivation inside me. In essence, I realized that old friends are our assets and it is far better to keep in touch with them rather than making a new friend who might not even care about you.

By the way of conclusion, based on the aforementioned arguments, I firmly believe that keeping old friends is essential than trying to get along with new ones. I maintain this mainly because our old colleagues can understand us better during hard times and we can always cherish moments with them in order to feel motivated.