Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is no shortage of debate regarding whether government should prefer for spending capital in support of arts or athletics. In my opinion, state should spend more money in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. I feel this for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, Olympic teams compete in international level, thus having a chance of country to be recognized whole over the world. People generally follow big tournaments like Olympic games and world cups rather than arts. So, when a country spends more money in such athletics, they can draw attention of people worldwide. For instance, India always participated in Mr. Olympia, which is the biggest bodybuilding competition in the world but never qualified. Recently, the country is investing a lot of capital on the game. Moreover, a number of state competitions and regional level competitions are being held to motivate young bodybuilders. Finally, Mukesh Gahlot, a 42 year bodybuilder fetched first gold medal in Mr. Olympia power-lifting competition in 2018. After this a lot of aspirants are expected to qualify and win medals for the country. If the government hadn't spent money to create the platform for the bodybuilders, this would be an arduous road for them. Now India is also known for producing huge bodybuilders and fitness enthusiasts.

Secondly, big tournaments that is played among many different countries helps to bring revenues, which is one thing that state always wants in return of investment. As I said above, after India started investing huge amount of capital in bodybuilding competitions, number of players from around the world are coming in the country to compete. Not only players, but also renowned coaches and eminent bodybuilding supplement companies have drawn their keen attention towards the country's investment. Establishment of number of gyms by international companies and number of authorized distributors of fitness supplements inside the country is a strong evident of rise in market value. All this helps to increase the country's revenue in many different forms including tax. Supplement products made in US and UK are very expensive so they have to pay huge amount of tax before entering Indian market. Also, number of Indian supplement industries is also rising which directly contributes to the economy of the country.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that governments should spend more capital in promoting athletics who compete in international tournaments like Olympic games and World cup. This is because; it provides a beautiful platform for the country to be recognized in the world and also helps to contribute in country's economy.