Newspapers and magazines will not be available in the near future because large amounts of information from the internet will replace them. Do you agree or disagree? Give some examples from your own experience.

Newspapers and magazines has been a source of information for a long period. However, the advent of internet, its use is significantly increasing with the realization of its huge potential. So, I agree with the statement that print sources will be replaced by internet in coming days. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, unlike printed media source, internet has no limitations on information. With the rise of number of websites and blogs in the internet, one can find information about anything anywhere and anytime. However, magazines and newspapers usually have a limited source of information. Only those contents that are recent and can draw people instantly are printed in these sources. A simple example can illustrate this. While I was in university taking my history class, I needed to research on cognitive behavior of brain. When I searched for books and related magazines in the library I found very little and superficial information. Switching to the internet, I found ocean of resources including a number of research papers to editorials and review articles. Also I got to know a lot of new discoveries which were yet to be printed globally. In this sense, internet poses huge opportunities and challenges orthodox newspapers and magazines.

Secondly, people are highly obsessed with social networking devices including smart phones, laptops and mobile tablets. It’s easier and faster for them to use such devices rather than to buy a printed source of information. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. On the result day of election, where my father was a candidate, I had to travel to another place through train. It was much easier for me to know the results through the internet provided in the train than to wait for another day to buy a newspaper where the results would have been printed after that day only. Also, such devices are being cheaper and cheaper day by day. So many people are gradually having access to electronic devices and of course internet. For this reason too, I believe internet will take over the printed media sources.

To sum up, internet being a source of unlimited information source and its use significantly rising on daily basis, I think it will soon supplant newspapers and magazines for reliance in obtaining the information by people.