Telling the truth is always the most important consideration in any relationship.

There are number of different factors people like to take into account in any relationship. Usually people look for honesty, loyalty, understanding, maturity etc! In my opinion, telling the truth is very important to sustain as well as strengthen any kind of relationship. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, telling the truth helps to maintain the trust among people, which is one thing that most individuals often struggle with. Strong relationships always have a greater bond of trust among them. My own experience is a compelling example of this. Last summer, I worked in a forensic research lab which was kind of pioneering research institute in my country. While working in lab, I mistakenly used an expensive chemical in wrong place and wasted it. Everyone in the lab suggested me to hide the truth and say nothing to professor. However, I went to my professor’s office and honestly told him that it was a mistake and I would become more prudent in the future regarding lab activities. Unlike everybody’s speculations, his response turned out to be opposite. He was happy that I took the responsibility honestly. Moreover, he came to lab and suggested every lab members to act honestly like I did. On top of that, he started noticing me in every steps and I got very valuable time from him whenever I needed. Not only our relation progressed, but also I had a great learning opportunity due to the trust that developed between us.

Secondly, telling the truth can avoid potential loss and harm, which is often very important in professional relationship. In offices and industries, there is no any room for lies and dishonesty because it can lead into significant damage. As I said above, the chemical that I wasted was very expensive. Later I knew that not only it required greater cost, but also it had very dangerous health hazards when exposed to the environment. As soon as I told my professor about the incident, labs were evacuated and neutralizing agents were used for two days before resuming lab activities any further. If I had kept it secret, though my professor would not know it for certain time, we would have been exposed to hazards like skin burns and might lead to cancer in long term as well. For this reason, everyone in lab was suggested to speak truth and not mask any wrong activities.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that speaking truth honestly helps to strengthen any form of relationships. This is because; it helps to develop trust between the parties and can avoid any kind pernicious circumstances in the future.