Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

As people regard education as quite significant in life more and more, where the educational budget should be devoted is usually a hot topic. Some people hold the view that financial support should be concentrated for improving facilities like classes and libraries while others have the notion that an equal amount of capital should be allocated to sports and social activities. In my perspective, games and social life coupled with classes makes a campus life perfect, so I think these activities are to be given considerable priority in terms of capital investment.

To begin with, games and sports help to ameliorate the pressure and stress with which students often struggle with during their college life. As people upgrade to higher classes more and more, they are often endowed with obligation to write many assignments, term papers and project reports. The only way to keep them motivated is by encouraging them to involve in games. For instance, if a student is interested in playing football, during the game he does not thinks about all the works that he needs to complete. As a result, it helps to refresh his mind. Enjoying sports not only helps to manage the stress, but also improves the mental function by improving cardiovascular activities and bolstering our immune system. All things considered, such activities have positive impact on student’s mental function.

Besides, social activities provide students with unique opportunity to learn new things which they do not learn in classroom, namely, interpersonal skills like communication, team work and respect. For example, if university decides to conduct an environmental cleanliness campaign, students are encouraged to form groups and each group is supposed to perform different tasks. This way, students really get a pragmatic perspective of how it feels to work in a group. In addition, they also learn how a group can be coordinated and managed while doing any job. On one hand they learn to respect each other, while on other hand they learn to feel morally obligated towards protecting and conserving our environment, society and community.

By the way of conclusion, based on the arguments aforementioned, it is reasonable to believe that universities and colleges should indeed allocate equal amount of their capital to foster games and social activities as well. This is mainly because it helps students to become mentally fit and also they can learn valuable qualities of life.