Internet importance

Regarding whether it is more important for the government to spend more money to improve internet access than to improve public transportation, answers can vary drastically from individual to individual. Some people view the Internet as a necessary thing in life, while others utilize public transportation every day. In my opinion, the importance of internet access outweighs that of public transportation for the following reasons.

To begin with, as technology advanced, people can harness the Internet to do almost everything, such as communication, information searching and even ordering food. It’s believed that people increasingly rely on the internet as time went by and it’s hard to imagine a life without the internet. Therefore, I strongly agree the government should spend money on improving internet access, which not only stabilizes people’s basic needs but brings more convenience as well.

Second, as above mentioned, people can communicate with each other through the internet. In addition, people sometimes need to contact somebody in an emergency. Without good quality internet, it might be difficult for us to contact each other immediately. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. Once, during a trip to a famous mountain with my family, I was lost. I rapidly used my smartphone to call my parents. Nevertheless, due to the poor signal of the internet, I couldn’t dial the phone. Fortunately, I ended up finding my mom on my own. As a result, this event had lead me to conclude that it’s important to always have access to the internet and the government should improve the quality of the internet with money to prevent a such dangerous situation.

Last but not least, some people have exploited the internet to do something professional. For example, pilots need the internet to help them fly their planes. Stock traders get the latest statistics through the internet. Reporters need the internet to capture the latest news around the world. It’s the internet that helps those people to have a good performance on their jobs. As for me, I used to work at an electronic commerce company that is highly related to the internet. Many times, I used the internet to finish my work. If I hadn’t had good internet access, I might have encountered some troubles. Accordingly, I strongly agree with the idea that government should spend money to improve the quality of the internet.

To summarize, from what I’ve mentioned above, the internet brings plentiful benefits. It maintains our basic needs, solves our emergency, and professionally assist our work. Therefore, the government should spend money on improving the internet, guaranteeing that we can have access to the internet readily.