It is better to go on a trip by oneself than to take a group tour with a guide.

Travelling by yourself gives you the freedom and can be a really good experience but I dont think it gives you the most import thing i.e. the assurance of security you need whenever you are travelling to a foreign place. There is always that worry feeling or nervousness accompanying you. So I truly feel that rather than travelling solo, one should always travel with a group or take along a guide with him/her while travelling.

Travelling with a group gives you that satisfaction and always gives you a feeling of calmness in the journey. Whether going on a short 1-2 day trip or even going for a long vacation, travelling along with someone gives you the opportunity to create strong bonds with the people and create memories that would last lifetime. For instance I remember when I travelled with a group of my friends to UK for 10 days. I remember the fun we had together, the memories we created. I remember them even now and I definitely feel that the feeling of togetherness that one experiences during the trip is one of the best feelings and one cannot experience it while travelling alone.

Nowadays we hear so many stories of tourists getting scammed in different countries. The solo tourists are the main victims of these kind of scams and these scammers often target the solo travellers as it is pretty easy to fool them when they are alone. So, I feel if you prefer to travel alone then too, you should always have a local guide accompanying you. The local guides are experienced people and they often choose what is best for you. I also remember when we visited the Taj Mahal in India and hired a local guide there. He was such an artless person and the historic knowledge he possessed about the monuments there was immense. He gave us so much intrinsic data about these monuments that we got a very clear picture and a clear understanding about the Taj Mahal and the Red Fort which we would have never got if we travelled alone. I definitely benefited from the knowledge he gave us as it helped me later in one of my history projects.

So, to conclude I feel that travelling in a group or with a guide has far more benefits than travelling alone. The sense of security, the joy of company and the ability of understanding the place even better are some of the advantages that you get when you travel in a group or with a guide.