It is better to go on a trip by oneself than to take a group tour with a guide

Every one takes a trip for different reasons, consciously or unconsciously. However, many people do not consider the benefit of either going on trips individualy or taking group tours with guides. This is because most people have not tried out both options, not to talk of choosing the best option. If many people considered the benefits of each option, there would be a popular opinion. However, for two reasons, I feel it is better to take group tours with guide.

First, there is a higher probability that safety is ensured on group tours with guides. When you take tours with guides, you are forewarned about inherent dangers of the journey, hence safety is ensured. For instance, a friend of mine travelled to a tourist cattle ranch in Northern Nigeria, two years ago. She was not aware that the temperature of the ranch was so hot that she was meant to take a liter of water every thirty minutes. On getting to the ranch, she became dehydrated because she had no water left in her car, and drinkable water was not being sold around. As a result, she fainted, and had to be revived by a good samaritan who happened to be a medical practitioner. On the contrary, my friends and I took a trip to the highest hill in the country last year with a tour guide. We were able to survive the cold temperature without casualties because we were forewarned, and prepared adequately. As you can see, it is clear that it is better to travel in groups with a guide, to ensure safety.

Second, it is more fun filled to travel in groups with tour guides than doing otherwise. Traveling with guides exposes one to exiting experiences stories about both the destination and routes to the destination. For example, I have visited the Olumo rock touris center in Abeokuta, Nigeria twice. The first time I visted, I went alone. I would say that I had fun, but in a very minimal amount, compared to my experience the second time, when I went in a group, with a tour guide. On my second visit, the tour guide my friends and I stories about each item that was found around the rock. In fact I was able to learn a lot about the origin of the Abeokuta town and its people. Besides, my friends and I played a couple of exciting games which I did not have an opportunity to play on my first visit. After the second visit, I felt I wasted my money during my first visit. Hence, it is obvious that taking a group with a guide is much better than goin on a trip by oneself, as one gets to have fun and learn much more than the other scenario.

In sum it is better to take a group tour with a guide on a trip that to do the contrary. This will ensure that the time is adequately maximized for learning and having fun. Also, safety guarantee is higher when one travels in groups with tour guide. It therefore, is not an hype to say that traveling with a tour guide in a group is the best option.