It is better to have lots of friends than it is to have just a few friends.

Friendship is the only relationship wherein we have the right to choose the person we find suitable and with whom we can click. All other relations like cousins and relatives are previously decided before our birth. Thus, friends are a very valuable asset to our life and we must choose them wisely. The prompt suggests that it is better to have a lot of different friends than it is just to have a few friends. I disagree with this claim as I believe that quality matters more than quantity especially when it comes to friendship. The two reasons stated below will make my position clear.

First of all, friendships need to be maintained by both the people involved if we want it to be ever-lasting. When we make friends in our schools and colleges, we interact with each other almost on a daily basis. But, when we end up choosing different career paths and move on to live in different cities, it becomes tedious to maintain contact if you have a large bunch of friends. Similarly, on the other side they might have the same problem and just stay in touch with those people who were really close to them. Gradually, in this manner, if you have too many friends, you end up losing touch with many people as time passes and only your true friends will stay by our side through thick and thin. Friendship comes with an additional duty of being there for your dear one through different phases of life. Those who keep up to this are the only ones who deserve this title.

Secondly, many people may seem like our friends at first, but they stay by our side only for their own selfish reasons. It might be possible that you are a brilliant student and thus people stay friends with you to clear their doubts. Another case can be you are a person who socializes a lot and so people stay friends with you so that they can meet other new people who might have similar interests. Such people stay friends with you only till the time they get some benefit from you and then vanish from your life. In this fast moving world, identifying real friends is just like finding a pearl in the ocean. Therefore, if you have few friends it becomes easy to figure out whether they stay with you during your tough times.

To summarize, when we are young we want to make as many friends as possible making a person feel he has a large social circle. But as we face the reality, many people realize it is not possible to give justice to each and every one as a friend. We also understand that many people who seemed like friends turned out to be acquaintances or mere colleagues. Therefore, friendship is a very valuable relationship and should be kept only when it is cherished and responsibilities are fulfilled at both ends.