Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Children should be required to follow strict rules set by their parents. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer. Do not use memorized examples.

Upbringing is a major challenge and learning experience for both parents and children. In order to instill good values and bring up a responsible human being parents tend to set up certain rules, which often are considered as a restriction to freedom by the youth of today’s generation. Some people believe that parents should be lenient with their kids whereas others believe strict will only help in disciplining children. Nevertheless, I agree with the argument that children should be required to follow rules set by their parents for the reasons elucidated below.

Firstly, our parents have come into the world much earlier than us and therefore have more relevant experiences regarding many issues which children have not even touched upon. To illustrate, many parents tell their children to come home early and be careful when they go for excursions and trips. Initially, to the child, this sounds like parents are restricting their freedom by not allowing them to enjoy their social life like their friends. But, the underlying reason is their concern as they read about many fatalities like accidents at late night or at hiking spots. At this tender age children are carefree and thus the fear of our parents is justified as a small careless mistake can sometimes even cost their child’s life.

Secondly, during a person’s teenage years, people experience many hormonal changes and are not able to distinguish between right and wrong. They spend more time in college or enjoying life with their friends, that many times the younger generation have more faith in their friends than their family members. At this stage, quite a few friends remain in touch with you just for their own selfish reasons and cannot be identified by the young teenagers. But, as your parents have already gone through this phase of life, they can better identify your fake friends as compared to you. Therefore, in the long run these troublesome rules will benefit children.

Nevertheless, when we look at the other side of the coin, if there are too many restrictions imposed on children, it is natural for them to start moving away from their parents. In order to prevent such rebellious actions, parents should definitely have a set of rules for their child but before implementing any rule, they should discuss it with the child as well. The kid should be explained from childhood as to why they are setting up a particular rule and how it is designed for the child’s own good. If the child is taken into confidence and is made to understand, he or she will definitely accept it for his/her own well-being.

To summarize, a set of rules are definitely required to ensure that a child learns good morals and becomes a responsible and disciplined family member. Our elder’s experiences are the basis for these rules as they have faced similar situations when they were becoming adults. But, at the same time, the happiness quotient of children should also be taken into account so that the essence of enforcing these rules does not backfire.